Seven interns from the School of Education were honored on Friday, April 7, as Stevenson’s 2017 Maryland Teachers of Promise.  

LaShae Felder, Bryan Gieselman, Loryn McMillin, Bailey Swann, Stephanie Twigg, Jessica Wertz, and Abigail Rein attend a one-day Teachers of Promise Institute, where they participated in professional development and listened to presentations by Dr. Karen Salmon, Maryland State Superintendent of Schools, as well as Athanasia Kyriakakos, the 2017 Maryland Teacher of the Year and National Teacher of the Year finalist. These graduating seniors were also paired with outstanding mentor teachers from across Maryland to help guide them during their first year of teaching.

Bryan Gieselman and mentor

Bailey Swann and mentor

Stephanie Twigg and mentor

Jessica Wertz and mentor

School of Education faculty Dr. Robert Pelton and Mrs. Barbara Lutz attended the institute throughout the day in support of the students.

Congratulations to Stevenson University’s Teachers of Promise!