Seven School of Education teacher candidates, accompanied by Dr. Clotile Galbraith and Mr. Ted Fischer, joined over 1,100 people who attended the 26th Annual Maryland Teacher of the Year Gala on October 7.

This celebration honors the local Teacher of the Year from Baltimore City and every county school system in Maryland. This year’s event attracted scores of educators and dignitaries, including Maryland Secretary of State John Wobensmith, Sen. Paul Sarbanes, Rep. John Sarbanes, Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger, State Board President Andrew Smarick, and former State Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Nancy Grasmick.

Dr. Karen Salmon, State Superintendent of Schools, announced that Athanasia Kyriakakos, an art teacher at Baltimore City’s Mergenthaler Vocational Technical High School, was named the 2016-2017 Maryland Teacher of the Year. Ms. Kyriakakos will compete for the National Teacher of the Year and be honored by the President at the White House next spring.

Pictured (left to right): Dr. Karen Salmon (State Superintendent of Schools), Mr. Ted Fischer, Dr. Clotile Galbraith, Kathryn Thompson, Allison Herr, Iyana Hunter, Dr. Nancy Grasmick (former State Superintendent of Schools), Kendal Rippel, Maureen Gast, Jordyn Smith, Rebecca Weisman, Dr. Darla Strouse (State Department of Education).