Stevenson University Names Spring 2016 Rose Dawson Award Winners at Annual Faculty Awards Dinner

April 22, 2016 7 AM

Two faculty members from Stevenson University’s School of the Sciences earned the 2016 Rose Dawson Excellence in Teaching Award. The honor is presented annually to recognize innovative and energetic faculty who exemplify the art of teaching as mentors and scholars.

Chemistry Instructor, Diane Payne, who is also the Director of the Office of Sponsored Programs and Research, was presented with the Rose Dawson Award for full-time faculty. Shradha Maheshwari, Adjunct Instructor of Mathematics, earned the award for part-time faculty.

Both Payne and Maheshwari were presented with their honors at the annual faculty awards dinner on Tuesday, April 19. The following faculty were also recognized at the ceremony:

Innovative Teaching with Technology Awards

  • Dr. Hilda Dunkwu, Adjunct Professor, Legal Studies
  • George Lauterbach, Adjunct Professor, Chemistry
  • Dr. Takisha Toler, Assistant Professor, Marketing

Faculty Development Research Grant Awards

  • Christopher Ernst, Assistant Professor, Film/Video
  • Dr. Clotile Galbraith, Associate Professor, Education
  • Dr. Tracey Mason, Associate Professor, Chemistry
  • Lori Rubeling, Professor, Art/VCD
  • Dr. Geetha Suresh, Associate Professor, Criminal Justice
  • Dr. Joyce Williams, Assistant Professor, Nursing

Faculty Promotions


  • Dr. Sydella Blatch, promoted to Associate Professor (Biology)
  • Anne Davis, promoted to Professor (Education)
  • Dina Fiasconaro, promoted to Associate Professor (Film & Moving Image)
  • Dr. William Hodge, promoted to Associate Professor (Math & Physics)
  • Maria Howell, promoted to Professor (Forensic Studies)
  • Dr. Virginia Iannone, promoted to Professor (Psychology)
  • Dr. Wendy Kimber, promoted to Professor (Biology)
  • George Moore, promoted to Professor (Art)
  • Christine Moran, promoted to Professor (Education)
  • Dr. Tonya Schneidereith, promoted to Associate Professor (Nursing)
  • Dr. Laura Smith, promoted to Associate Professor (English)
  • Dr. Thomas Swisher, promoted to Professor (Human Services)
  • Dr. Kimberly Tucker, promoted to Associate Professor (Biology)
  • Harry Turner, promoted to Professor (Law)
  • Stephanie Verni, promoted to Professor (Business Communication)
  • Dr. Dawn Ward, promoted to Associate Professor (Chemistry)


  • Guillermo Gonzalez, promoted to Adjunct Professor (English)

Stevenson University, known for its distinctive career focus, is the third-largest independent university in Maryland with more than 4,200 students pursuing bachelor’s, master’s, and adult bachelor’s programs at locations in Stevenson and Owings Mills.