Skip Navigation
Alumni & Giving

Need a Transcript?

Transcripts must be requested through the National Student Clearinghouse secure transcript ordering site.
Request a Transcript

Alumni Awards

alumni awards

Left to right: Mike Mandish ’92 ’93, Amanda “Mimi” Tinkler ’09, and Dawn Mackenzie-Stefanik ’86 ’95

Nominate a Deserving Graduate

Complete the nomination form below or contact Allison Humphries Cuneo '11, Director of Alumni and Constituent Relations at
Alumni Award Nomination

During Baccalaureate on May 15, Dawn Mackenzie-Stefanik ’86 ’95, Mike Mandish ’92 ’93, and Amanda Tinkler ’09 were recognized for their commitment to the University. The awards were presented by current Alumni Association Board President Shervonne Cherry ’05. 


Distinguished Alumni Award

Dawn Mackenzie-Stefanik ’86 ’95

This award honors alumni who demonstrate the Stevenson tradition of excellence through personal accomplishment, professional achievement, and humanitarian service.

After earning her associate’s degree in medical technology in 1986, Dawn Mackenzie-Stefanik returned to Villa Julie College to confer her bachelor of science in nursing in 1995. Dawn completed an internship at Union Memorial Hospital and is now the Nurse Manager at the Infusion Therapy Center at GBMC. Considered an expert in patient care, she has been invited to speak at several national and international conferences. She has had the opportunity to present at events in Cyprus, Jordan, and Myanmar.

Dawn has presented before Congress and staffers on Capitol Hill regarding the state of health care and the challenges associated with access to care. Last year, she was one of the oncology nurses invited to participate in the Cancer Moonshot Summit by the office of Former Vice President Joe Biden. Dawn has also been a part of several national advisory panels for pharmaceutical companies.

It is Dawn’s hope that Stevenson will continue to prepare graduates for any challenge that comes their way. She feels that it is critical for students to graduate with the confidence they need to excel in their future endeavors and to have a sense of purpose and commitment that extends beyond their immediate job.

Past Winners

2005: Victoria Chambers '57
2006: Linda Vojik Donhauser, Esq. '85
2007: Donna Croucher Morrison '74
2008: Marcell Katz Colmer '68
2009: Mary Susan Donhauser '76
2010: Deborah T. Frock '69 '01
2011: Margaret Leurs Stine '51
2013: Diane Parzynski Wit '69
2014: Orsia F. Young '79
2015: Shirley Matlock '74
2016: Tammy Schneider '98





Alumni Loyalty Award

Mike Mandish ’92 ’93

This award is presented to alumni who continually demonstrate loyalty and commitment to the Stevenson University community by devoting their time and talent to enhance the overall success of the University.

During his student experience, Mike Mandish appreciated that the majority of his classes were taught by working professionals, so he and his classmates were exposed to many real world scenarios that could be applied in a professional setting. He began his career as a paralegal, with a focus on estates and trusts. Later on, he was able to transition to the accounting field. Mike is currently a CPA in public accounting at Gorfine, Schiller, & Gardyn.

Mike’s loyalty to his alma mater is unwavering. He served on the Stevenson University Alumni Association Board for twelve years. Mike acted as Alumni Association Board President and then as a liaison to the Board of Trustees. He guided and managed modifications and revisions to the Alumni Association Board Constitution and Bylaws, which led to an increase in membership and an expansion of alumni programming. Mike helped to launch Stevenson’s first Homecoming weekend, among several other annual alumni events. 

Mike remains active in the Stevenson community, supporting alumni initiatives and attending events. He strongly believes that with its firm foundation, Stevenson will continue to successfully educate students who can keep up with the current demands of the business world. 

Past Winners

2005: Theresa Mooney '85
2006: Sue Ziegler '79
2007: Carol Lee Menning '69
2008: Regina Holter Welsh '57
2009: Sue Carl '57
2010: Betty Nugent Lynott '70
2011: Barbara Smith Danettel '61
2012: David Burows '92 '94 '95 '99
2013: Bonnie Allan '71
2014: Jo-Anna Salemi Conrey '62 '86 '92
2016: Fran Gunshol '67

Young Alumni Award

Amanda “Mimi” Tinkler ’09

This award recognizes graduates from the past ten years who have achieved success while remaining engaged with the University.

As a business communication student, Mimi was very involved in the campus community. She recalls the camaraderie with classmates and her own personal development to have been just as much a part of her college experience as earning credits towards her degree. Stevenson prepared her well for the workforce, equipping her not just with the applicable technical skills to succeed, but also with strong interpersonal, analytical, and critical thinking skills, vital to her daily work.

For over six years, Mimi has been working in development at the University of Maryland St. Joseph Medical Center. Starting out as a manager of donor relations, Mimi quickly advanced her career and is currently the Director of Development. She is the youngest director within the organization and manages a team that has raised over $22 million to support critical health care programs and services that directly impact our community.

Her wish for her alma mater is that the University continues to grow while staying true to its core identity. In her eyes, what makes Stevenson so special is the individualized attention given to its students. She hopes that the University will continue to provide outstanding educational opportunities, guided by its founding principles.

Past Winners

2006: Todd Chasen, Esq. '97 '98
2007: Cari Cramer Pierce '98
2008: Joy M. Bankert '97
2009: Melinda Myers Hinsley '98
2010: Chin F. Pann, Esq. '00
2011: Jaime Elwood '01
2012: Blake Ulam '02
2013: Jim Wilson, '04
2014: Bradley Bartkowiak '07
2015: Ebony Hypolite '06 
2016: Lauren Humphries '08



Request Info