On October 12, ten seniors in the School of Education and Dr. Deborah Kraft, Dean of the School of Education, attended the Maryland Teacher of the Year 28th Annual Awards Gala at Martin’s West.  The Gala recognized the 2018-2019 Local Teachers of the Year from the 23 counties in Maryland and Baltimore City. Dr. Richard Warren, Jr., from Somerset County, was named the 2019 Maryland Teacher of the Year.

Stevenson seniors pictured with Joshua Carroll (2018 Maryland Teacher of the Year, Anne Arundel County), Dr. Darla Strouse (Director, Maryland Teacher of the Year Program, Maryland State Department of Education), and Dr. Karen B. Salmon (State Superintendent of Schools, Maryland State Department of Education).

Katlyn Bagdovitz, Jessica Naylor, McKenna Nartatez, Haley Kuffler, Brittany Downs, Lexi Rhoten, Tori Bielot, Caroline Baron (not pictured Emily Janssen and Dr. Deborah Kraft)

Lexi Rhoten ’19 with Tina Thomen, Carroll County 2019 Teacher of the Year (Ms. Thomen was one of Lexi’s high school teachers)