Stevenson University’s Psi Omicron Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP), an international educational honors society, is the recipient of numerous prestigious awards by the organization.

The chapter is slated to receive an ACE (Achieving Chapter Excellence) award for the 2018-19 year (awarded bi-annually at the KDP Convocation). This will be our chapter’s 5th ACE award, and we are proud to be one of 22 out of approximately 500 chapters internationally to receive it. As a recipient of an ACE Award, our chapter has been asked to design a poster that explains our chapter’s organization, programs, and successes to be displayed at Convocation in Norfolk, Virginia from October 24-26.

The Psi Omicron Chapter will receive two program awards (a maximum of two can be given to a chapter). The Community Service program award (proposal written by McKenna Nartatez) was on a library program, “Our Solar System,” presented at the Baltimore County Public Library. The Membership award (proposal written by De'Asia Winder) featured the “High Tea” event held in March 2019, during which our chapter honored and socialized with School of Education alumni.

Another award, the first for our chapter to receive, was the “Distinguished Chapter Officer Award.” Each of the 500 chapters could only nominate Officer for this award. The recipient for this esteemed award is De'Asia Winder.

In addition to the above awards, graduate and undergraduate officers submitted four proposals that have been accepted for presentation at the Kappa Delta Pi Convocation. Our chapter’s current KDP Officers will be delivering these presentations in October.

Each of the ’19 graduate Officers deserves recognition for their service, time, and devotion to the chapter: Caroline Baron (President), De’Asia Winder (Vice President), McKenna V. Nartatez (Treasurer), Tijuana Jordan (Historian), Emily Janssen (Foundations), Tabitha Lansinger (Secretary), and Lindsay Quintanilla (Recruitment). Lastly, we extend our thanks and appreciation for the dedication and hard work of our members, who worked diligently with our chapter counselors Dr. Clotile Galbraith and Jill Suffel to help us to continue to be an award-winning chapter.









Top row (left to right): Tabitha Lansinger, Cassandra Kopasek Tijuana Jordan, Caroline Baron, and De’Asia Winder. Bottom row (left to right): Emily Janssen, McKenna V. Nartatez, Lindsay Quintanilla, Clotile Galbraith, and Jill Suffel.









Top row (left to right): Beth Kunert, Savannah Maisel, Cassandra Kopasek, Caroline Baron, Lindsay Quintanilla, Samantha Pickett, and Clotile Galbraith. Bottom row (left to right): McKenna V. Nartatez, Emily Janssen, and De’Asia Winder.

Submitted by Cassandra Kopasek (Psi Omicron Historian)