Skip Navigation

Have a Question?

Contact Admissions
Undergraduate Admissions
Owings Mills Campus
Garrison Hall North, Second Floor

Email Admissions


Chemistry and Biochemistry News

Spring 2019 Awards

Graduating seniors in the School of the Sciences were recognized at the end of the year awards ceremony last week. Chemistry department faculty were all in attendance along with friends and family to wish the students well. Among this year's award were:

Sara Fout,  Academic Achievement

Isaac Colbert, Departmental Service Award

Sehlah Butt, the American Chemical Society Award 

Sigma Xi Honor Society,  Joseph Acqui, Austin Halterman

Beta Beta Beta Biology Honor Society, Joseph Acqui, Isaac Colbert, Ariana Engerman, Amanda Peavey, Tania Rodriguez-Cintora, Natalie Wasicko, 

Gamma Sigma Epsiolon Chemistry Honor Society,  Joseph Acqui, Isaac Colbert, Amanda Peavey, Natalie Wasicko

Ecuador 2020

Returning for its third year, Herbal Medicines and Remedies has been confirmed for Winterim 2020. The estimated cost will be finalized this summer.  Students are encouraged to begin the application process through the International and Off-Campus Study website beginning August 1st.

Dr. Dawn Ward

Dr. Dawn Ward was honored by the National Society of Leadership and Success last weekend when she was awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award.  The Stevenson Chapter held its Spring 2019 Induction ceremony at which Dr. Ward was presented her award by president-elect Stephanie Buttino a junior biology major/chemistry minor. The NSLS is a national leadership honor society that encourages community action, volunteerism, personal growth and strong leadership from its chapters and members. 

                 Kendall and Dr. Narayan

        ACS Orlando

                   Dr. Narayan and the moles

Students and faculty traveled to Orlando Florida for the Spring 2019 National Meeting and Expo of the American Chemical Society.  There, senior biochemistry major Kendall Quirk presented her work on the molecular modeling of potential anti HIV drugs that she completed with chemistry faculty member Dr. Sara Narayan. 

new members of gamma sigma epsilon

(Pictured L-R: Natalie Wasicko, Miguel Hernandez, Josef Kittelberger, Yasmin Hilton-Bey, Sam Edwards, Isaac Colbert, Rachel Grewette, Amanda Peavey, Olivia Appicella, Dyana Daniyarova. Dr. Dwyer kneeling)

The annual induction of students into Gamma Sigma Epsilon, the Chemistry Honor Society were held last Friday on campus. Parents and faculty looked on as students took the oath of membership. Membership in Gamma Sigma Epsilon is extended to those students who have completed a minimum of 16 credits in chemistry and are enrolled in four additional chemistry credits and who have a minimum GPA of 3.40 in all chemistry courses and a minimum 3.00 GPA overall. Congratulations to the new members and their faculty advisor, Dr. Tim Dwyer. 

Request Info Visit Apply