Skip Navigation

Communication News

Faculty in the Halls mentors and Business Communication professors Leeanne Bell McManus and Chip Rouse were part of the annual Great Western Run Thanksgiving Feast, held in the Ratcliffe Community Center. The RAs joined the faculty mentors to prepare and serve the tasty menu. Turkey, mashed potatoes, corn bread, green beans, and pumpkin pie were just of few of the items served to the residents of Western Run. It was a grand feast for all, especially with SOS Glee Club serenading the guests!

Three members of the Business Communication faculty -- Dr. Leeanne Bell McManus, Dr. Deric Greene, and Dr. Heather Harris -- participated in the annual National Communication Association (NCA) convention, held this year in Las Vegas. The photos below (from Dr. Greene and Dr. Bell McManus) include an early morning breakfast and a meeting with former Business Communication major Brooke Witherow Fowler, who is finishing her Ph.D. in Communication from the University of Maryland.

Senior Jennifer Rosenbloom (left) has made sure that she has had plenty of chances to shine this semester during her internship at CareFirst Blue Cross/Blue Shield in Owings Mills, Maryland, under the mentorship of  Barbara Gerber, the Senior Account Representative there. The insurance industry has undergone many changes recently, and Jennifer has worked hard to learn how to adjust accounts in relation to national changes within the organization.

Junior Kris DeJesus has been given a wide variety of assignments by his mentor in the Office of Student Activities, Hope Miller, the Assistant Director at Stevenson University. Kris hopes eventually to work in the activities segment of higher education, so his internship has provided him with many experiences in negotiation, organization, event planning and management, and student development. As a member of MAP, Kris also relies on his own knowledge of student activities to give him an edge in planning and promoting.

Kevin Byrne, the Baltimore Ravens Senior Vice President of Public and Community Relations, addressed a packed house on Nov. 17 as the department of business communication's eighth annual Shapiro/Rouse lecturer. Department chair Chip Rouse welcomed the crowd, and junior Emma Ragon made the introductions. What a surprise the audience had when Mr. Byrne took out his two Super Bowl rings and passed them around for everyone to try on, even explaining the best way to take a selfie!...Click here to read more.

Request Info Visit Apply