Skip Navigation

Communication News

Date: Feb 2015

Senior BizComm Kelsey Spriggs (on the right in the photo) is interning near the Greenspring campus of Stevenson University at Gramercy Mansion, a bed and breakfast venue that also hosts gala events including weddings, rehearsal dinners, wine tastings, and more. Her mentor, Jennifer Sullivan, the director of marketing for the venue, is also a BizComm alum! Kelsey particularly enjoys writing weekly blogs and attending bridal shows to represent the site.

Several BizComm students and faculty members attended the most recent meeting of the Chesapeake chapter of the Professional Convention Management Association. They enjoyed a career panel comprised of professionals in event planning and management, hospitality, and event sales, and included (top photo, l-r) Lindsay Ruocco of Visit Baltimore"; Robyn Hulvey from the Henry Jackson Foundation; Richard Hays, the regional sales manager at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa; Jill Oxendine-Medley, of the Loews Annapolis Hotel; Marci Glavin, the associate regional vice president of HelmsBriscoe; Lesly Rehaut, director of sales for onPeak; Pat Mallak, a senior account executive for Marriott; and Janee Pelletier, COO of Conference & Logistics Consultants, Inc. The panel was followed by a "What's Trending" in the event planning business presentation by two employees of Feats, Inc. -- Petra Compel and Andrew Zill. The students and faculty from Stevenson included (l-r) Professor Stephanie Verni, Nicolette Stoner, Dr. Leeanne Bell McManus, Megan Donahue, Tara Shishmanian, Department chair Chip Rouse, Jackie Cooper and Christine Edwards.

Congratulations to the 10 BizComms who were inducted on Feb. 20, 2015, into Who's Who in American Universities and Colleges, and to Dr. Heather Harris, associate professor of Business Communication, who was the event's keynote speaker. The students, pictured in the photo (l-r, top-bottom), include Lanie Swanhart, Megan Donahue, Kris DeJesus, Conrad Joseph Ellis, Taylor Festerman, Annie McCoach, Ashley Mil, Jenifer Antonelli, and Jasmine Moses. Missing is Megan McSwain. Professor Chris Noya, assistant professor of Business Communication, organized the event as chair of the Faculty Council Student Services Committee.









The students awarded this week's "Style Star" designation were those who dressed up to help at the "Stevenson Scholars" Open House: (back row, l-r): Emily Rosenthal, Megan McSwain, Sarah Cullison, Courtney Hastings, Emma Ragon, Jackie Cooper, Kristen Brooks, Tyler Turk; (front row, l-r): Jamal Williams, Alex Parker, Chloe Redmond, Colleen Shipley and Kaitlin Kirkwood. (Photo by Stephanie Verni)

Request Info Visit Apply