Skip Navigation

Front Cover

Front Cover

students in front of design building

campus buildings at sunset

Copyright © 2015 Stevenson University

All rights reserved

Published by Stevenson University
Project direction by Glenda G. LeGendre
Editorial direction by Sherry Bithell
Art direction by Atsuko Biars

Sherry Bithell, John Buettner, Chip Burkey, Matt Laumann, Glenda G. LeGendre, Tiffany Mason, Alexandria Noble, Dave Snyder, Cheryl Sunderland

Atsuko Biars, Leo Brady, Chip Burkey, Kara Daly, Maximilian Franz, Mark Hergan, Aaron Harris, Brandon Holthaus, Sabina Moran, Lindsay Thompson, Eric Stocklin, Gene Sweeney, Jacob Wattenphul
A special thanks to all of the SU photo interns who have helped during the past 15 years.

Mount Royal Printing & Communications
Wert Bookbinding, Inc.
Date of Printing: July 2015

Extensive efforts have been made by the authors and editors to ensure the accuracy of this publication. We apologize in advance for any incorrect historical facts, misspellings, or typographical errors. Please send any corrections to:

Marketing and Digital Communications
Stevenson University
100 Campus Circle
Owings Mills, Maryland 21117

Stevenson University, 2000-2015

studenst walking under trees



Donald B. Ratcliffe


Charles E. Herget


Kevin G. Byrnes


James. B. Stradtner

During the course of the strategic planning era of 2000-2015, Stevenson was privileged to have the Board of Trustees leadership of many, including four dedicated professionals who served as Chair. Each brought genuine enthusiasm and support to the University and to the general cause of expanding a quality education for our students.

Donald B. Ratcliffe, an area architect who led the Board from 1989 to July 2002, prior to his passing in 2009, was instrumental in helping the College to expand beyond being a commuter school and to grow beyond the confines of the original Villa Julie campus. Charles E. “Ted” Herget, Jr. was elected Chairman in 2002. A well-known business and community leader, he had been involved in varying capacities with the campus for more than 27 years. Herget was the ideal transformational leader, assisting the Board in its guidance of campus growth and the decision about a name change and university status. Kevin G. Byrnes was elected as Vice Chair in March 2005, following two years on the Board. A banker and civic leader, he followed in Herget’s footsteps as Chair in May 2005. Under his watchful eye, the College transformed into a successful, career-focused university with a new name that helped Stevenson achieve rapid growth and favorable recognition. At the end of the spring 2015 semester, Byrnes stepped down as chair, succeeded by Board member James B. “Jim” Stradtner. A Senior Advisor at Century Capital Management and the Managing Partner of Century Private Investments, LLC, Stradtner has been an actively involved trustee since August 2002 and has shared his financial acumen as well as his love of education with the University.

The University is grateful to all of its current and previous Board and Presidential Advisory Council members for their countless hours and dedicated support.

Additionally, the strategic planning and tactical implementation of the University’s growth was supported by a dedicated group of administrators who worked tirelessly with President Manning, serving as his Cabinet. By 2015, this team included nine members: a Chief of Staff as well as leadership in academics, student affairs, enrollment management, marketing and digital communications, finance, human resources, advancement, and public affairs/strategy.

vice presidents

From left to right: Sue B. Kenney, Vice President and Chief of Staff; Mark Hergan, Vice President, Enrollment Management; Brenda Balzer, Vice President, Human Resources; Stevenson W. Close, Jr., Vice President, University Advancement; Sharon Markley, Vice President, Public Affairs and Strategy; Paul D. Lack, Ph.D., Executive Vice President, Academic Affairs; Glenda G. LeGendre, Vice President, Marketing and Digital Communications; Timothy M. Campbell, Executive Vice President, Financial Affairs and Chief Financial Officer; and Claire E. Moore ’67 ’03, Vice President, Student Affairs.